School Entrance Age

  1. Introduction
  2. Public school entrance age has been established by Utah State law and it is the intent of the Board of Education to adhere to the entrance age as established by law. Utah State statute regarding school entrance age states “a board may enroll children in school who are at least five years of age before September 2 of the year admission is sought.” (53A-3-402) (5)

  3. Statement of Policy
  4. No child may be admitted to kindergarten who is not 5 years of age or older on or before September 1 of the school year in which enrollment is sought. A child may be enrolled in the first grade if the child is at least 6 years of age on or before September 1 of the current school year or completed kindergarten in the public schools of another state prior to transferring to the district. A school eligible child shall be enrolled in kindergarten for observation and consideration for placement other than in kindergarten.

Approved: August 27, 1991